METU Department of Sociology provides a hospitable and resourceful intellectual environment for sociology students from all around the world with its undergraduate and graduate programs. The department offers a four-year undergraduate program leading to a B.A. degree and graduate programs leading to M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in sociology. The department grants its students strong theoretical insights and practical research skills and competences.

The curricula at all levels of sociology education at METU are enriched by departmental and non-departmental electives. In addition to its undergraduate and graduate programs, the department also has minor and double major undergraduate programs and is affiliated with other diverse master and doctorate programs offered by the Social Sciences Institute of METU.

The Graduates of the Department of Sociology, METU, have job opportunities in a wide range of public and private sectors. The institutions in these sectors range from various ministries of government, civil society organizations, research companies, advertisement agencies, marketing firms, to international institutions such as the World Bank, UNDP, UNICEF, and ILO.